With all the different diets and ways of eating coming out, it can feel like a ton of information coming to you at once which kind of makes it hard to keep up with the trends.
In this post, you’ll learn the difference between vegan and vegetarian since most people seem to confuse the two. Stay tuned because this is the first blog post of a series of blog posts comparing various diets. Let’s get into it, shall we?
What is a vegetarian diet?
According to dictionary.com, a vegetarian is a person who does not eat meat, and sometimes other animal products, especially for moral, religious, or health reasons.
A vegetarian diet can include
- Dairy products
Vegetarians tend to stray away from
- Meat or poultry
- Gelatin or animal rennet
- Stock or fat from animals
Those who choose to eat fish and or seafood are considered pescatarians.
Types of Vegetarians (source: NDTV Food)
- Lacto Ovo Vegetarian: It refers to a diet that excludes meat or flesh but may include eggs and milk (dairy products).
- Ovo Vegetarian: Those who consume only eggs as a single dairy product or those vegetarians who include all the dairy products such as milk, yogurt, cream etc but exclude eating eggs from their diet.
- Demi Vegetarian: They consumes fish, eggs, other dairy products but not meat.
- Semi Vegetarian: Another bunch of vegetarians who sometimes voluntary control their meat intake.
What is a vegan diet?
According to Vegan Society, veganism is defined as a way of living that attempts to exclude all forms of animal exploitation and cruelty as much as possible.
Contrary to vegetarianism, vegans not only cut out animal flesh, they also cut out all products associated with animals such as:
- Honey etc.
Vegans believe that animals have the right to be free from human use. Vegans are opposed to animal cruelty and believe that animals have rights.
Types of Vegans (source: NDTV Food)
- Ethical Vegans: They are the most common who evidently put their ethics forward instead of their stomach and inherit their love and care for animals and environment. Ethical Vegans do not consume any dairy product be it milk, eggs, cheese, honey and avoid the usage of any product made by animal skin or parts.
- Plant Based Vegans: They go on to live on plants based foods, which grow from the ground only.
- Raw Vegan: They do not eat any animal by-product and anything that is cooked above the temperature of 115-degree Fahrenheit as they believe that such food will lose its nutrients and enzymes completely.